Study Guides: Sustainability and Environment: Home

Welcome

This guide has a search strategy, recommended resources and referencing guidelines supporting the Bachelor of Sustainability and Environment study.

The guide contains the following sections:

Key databases
Plan your search with a search strategy
Books and journals
Websites
Indigenous resources
APA 7th referencing

Tip: Use the menu on the right-hand side to navigate throughout this guide.

Key databases

Multi-subject databases

ProQuest A multidisciplinary database, strong in the Social Sciences, Business, the Arts, Architecture, Engineering, Health, Medicine and more. It has very large holdings of scholarly journals, magazines, trade journals and newspapers.
Scopus The largest multi-subjects database offers over 16,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 publishers.
Web of science core collection It provides access to current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900.

Specific databases

Environment complete Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment studies video collection Provides viewers with short videos on all aspects of Environment Studies, including ecology and sustainability.
Environmental science database It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
MEDGE management and environment information indexes and abstracts articles on management issues of business and government, on Australian and the international economies, environment management, and TQM. Subject coverage includes Australian and international economics, government policy, computer information systems, strategic and financial markets, TQM, human resources, marketing and advertising, innovation, and environment management such as recycling and litter control. Source documents are from approximately 100 journals.
EDGE database management and environment management issues for business and government, including the Australian an dinterantional economies, strategic and financial planning, human resources, quality, marketing, materials handling and innovatin; and environmental issues such as recycling, ISO 14000 and litter control.
Sustainability reference center Offers complete indexing for more than 900 publication with a strong focus on sustainability issues. The database also features tens of thousands of additional sustainability-focused articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry titles.

Media databases

Informit EduTV an online TV streaming resource for Australian tertiary institutions. 10,000 programs including documentaries, drama and series complemented with study guides and articles are accessible via computer, tablet or smartphone. Informit EduTV is an invaluable contemporary resource for teaching and learning.
Factiva Provides access to 8,000 sources from around the world including newspapers and business and trade publications. Factiva also contains company reports via the Companies / Markets tab.
Media Scan A bibliographic database featuring articles indexed from daily newspapers. It indexes the following newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), West Australian (1996-1997).
TVNews It indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews is updated daily.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Grey Literature

This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.

Sustainability and Environment: Home