Study Guides: Systematic and Other Reviews: Module summary

You've completed this module

Congratulations! With the upload of your results into screening software, you've completed all the stages covered by this module.

Here's a summary with key actions noted next to each section of this course. You can review any section you like.

Section	Key Actions
What is a Systematic Review	Select review type and manual
Forming a Research Question	Select synthesis type and mnemonic
Preparing a Protocol	Write and lodge protocol
Forming the Search Strategy	Develop a search strategy using keywords, subject headings, truncation, Boolean logic and filters
Database Search Translation	Translate search strategy to other databases
Testing and Evaluating Search Design	Test strategy with results method and pearl article method
Search Reporting and Write-Up	Report search strategy and prepare example for inclusion in review
Exporting from databases and deduplicating results	Export all databases into Endnote Deduplicate Results Export to xml for Covidence
Hand Searching	Choose hand searching methods and execute
Grey Literature	Optional: Select grey literature sources and search
Screening	Complete first and second screenings with additional reviewers

What now?

In the first section of this course, we covered the ten steps of a systematic review. This beginner's course covered steps 1-6:

Define a question
Write a protocol
Design the search
Run the search
Export articles and deduplicate
Screening
Data extraction
Study appraisal
Interpret and synthesise
Report

Luckily, steps 7-1 of a systematic review are explained in multiple books and guides, a few of which we have included below. You can also consult with your supervisor for one-on-one assistance.

Sage Research Methods A list of all Sage research methods handbooks in the library collection.
How to perform a systematic review by E. Pursell A comprehensive book covering all stages.
Doing a systematic review: A Student's Guide A great overall resource for completing systematic reviews.

Systematic Review roadmap and where to get help

Systematic Review Roadmap This document breaks down each stage up to screening into practical goals.

Guides and Manuals

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.
Joanna Briggs Institute Manual for Evidence Synthesis The JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis is designed to provide authors with a comprehensive guide to conducting JBI systematic reviews. It describes in detail the process of planning, undertaking and writing up a systematic review using JBI methods.
Campbell Systematic Reviews: Policies and Guidelines Details how to undertake a Campbell Systematic Review
PRISMA 2020 checklist Click on the PRISMA 2020 checklist link on the right of the screen
ENTREQ Statement Statement for qualitative research searching and selecting qualitative research, appraisal, and methods for synthesising qualitative papers.
ROSES - Reporting Standards for Systematic Evidence Synthesis Contains guidance, protocols and flow diagrams designed specifically for environmental evidence syntheses.
The Systematic Review: An Overview - Aromataris, E., & Pearson, A. (2014) This article is the first in a new series on systematic reviews from the Joanna Briggs Institute. This first installment provides a synopsis of the systematic review as a scientific exercise, one that influences health care decisions. Aromataris, E., & Pearson, A. (2014). The Systematic Review: An Overview. The American Journal of Nursing, 114(3). https://doi.org/10.1097/01.NAJ.0000444496.24228.2c

⚠️ I'm stuck!

I need help!

If your question relates to Steps 1-6, you can submit a question to UTS Library. This will go to the health librarians team who will get back to you shortly.

✅ Congratulations!

You have finished this module! Good luck with your review.