Skip to Main Content

Systematic and Other Reviews: Database Search Translation

This guide contains information about systematic reviews and links to resources to help you conduct one.

Database Search and Translation

 

Your first database search will form the blueprint for all your other searches. Each database search requires a concept table with:

  • Clear concepts;
  • Synonyms for each concepts, adjusted with database syntax;
  • Subject Headings from the database;
  • Selected Filters

Medline is a common choice for the first database search in the health discipline, but you can start in any database. See below for video instructions.

Have a look below to get an idea of what database is right for you! 

copmuter icon

Medline

Medline is a large medicine and health database, with extensive US coverage. 

computer icon

Embase

Embase is a large medicine database with focus on drugs, medical devices and health topics. It covers a number of European journals.

computer icon

CINAHL

CINAHL provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to a wide variety of nursing and allied health topics.

computer icon

PsycInfo

PsycInfo is a psychology database which covers psychology, psychiatry and counselling journals, as well as qualitative research.

Translating a search 

 

Authors of a systematic review are expected to search for evidence across multiple databases. Not all databases use the same syntax or subject headings, so we need to "translate" the search. 

Use a Search Log

The best way to translate and track your database searches is to create a "Search Log".

Duplicate your concept table into multiple tabs or pages and adjust it for each database, being mindful of:

  • Syntax: Each database has different syntax to express keywords, subject headings and shortcuts like truncation.
  • Subject Headings: Medline, Embase, CINAHL and Psycinfo all have different subject headings. You will have to repeat the subject heading search in each database.
  • Filters: Select the relevant filters if you need them. They are likely to vary across databases.

This step is technical and challenging for new reviews. See the detailed demonstration video below from a previous library workshop, as well as a syntax guide and example search log.

Create Account and Save Search 

 

Each database has the option to save a search and come back later. This is recommended so you can adjust the search easily over time and compare changes.

 

Chapter Summary

Chapter Summary

 

🔵 From PRISMA-P

  • No specific advice on database translation.

 

✅ Learnings

  • Each database search must have the same basic structure that reflected the mnemonic (e.g. PICO/PS). 
  • Use your first search from the previous chapter and adapt it to the specific features of other databases. This is called 'translation'.
  • Translation usually means adapting syntax, adopting new subject headings, and choosing new filters.
  • Save your searches by signing up for a user account with each database.

⚠️ I'm stuck!

This database looks very familiar...

Some databases share the same platform. For example, Medline and Embase are both on the Ovid platform, so the interface looks identical except for a small block of text above the search field where the database name is listed.

Always check the database name. You might even accidently run an Embase search in Medline, leading to strange results, because they look so similar.

My search broke when I translated it.

If you can see what's wrong, try building the search fresh, using the concept table method we used previously.

Sometimes programs like Word and Excel have additional formatting attached to text, which ruins the search when copy and pasted into the search fields. In this case also it's best to start from scratch.

This database doesn't have subject headings?

Some databases don't! In this case, omit the subject headings step.

Which Medline should I use?

Ovid Medline is a good choice, and it has the same interface as Embase.

🛑 Stop and Review

  
  
  
  
Click the next button to continue.  ►