Welcome
This guide will help Midwifery students locate, evaluate and use information to support their studies.
Key resources for Midwifery
Databases
- CINAHL (EBSCO) Nursing and Allied Health database.
- Medline (Ovid) One of the largest biomedical databases in the world. Managed by the National Library of Medicine. Medline is a sub-set of PubMed.
- Embase A very large medical database with excellent coverage on pharmaceuticals and medical devices.
- Maternity and Infant Care (Ovid) Maternity and Infant Care (MIDIRS) database.
- British Journal of Midwifery A leading clinical journal for midwives and midwifery
Reference Texts
- Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH) Australian Medicines Handbook. Contains drug information, interactions and therapeutics guide. Contains a chapter on obstetric and gynecologic drugs.
- eTG Complete A collection of peer-reviewed clinical guidelines written by clinicians in Australia. Contains guidelines for drug use in pregnancy and breastfeeding.
Recommended Books
Resource types
Books
Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!
Journal Articles
Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.
Grey Literature
This includes government or non-government organisation (NGO) reports, guidelines and statistics. They often contain an overview of an issue as it applies to a specific region, state, country or worldwide.
Related Guides
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.