Study Guides: Indigenous Perspectives &amp; Practices: Home

UTS acknowledges the Gadigal People of the Eora Nation, the Boorooberongal people of the Dharug Nation, the Bidiagal people and the Gamaygal people upon whose ancestral lands our university stands. We would also like to pay respect to the Elders both past and present, acknowledging them as the traditional custodians of knowledge for these lands on which we work, live, and learn.

This guide is designed to raise awareness and understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples' knowledge, culture, and history.

The guide contains:

information on how to locate, evaluate, and use Indigenous perspectives to support your studies
discipline-specific Indigenous resources

Cultural notice: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People should be warned that this Study Guide may contain images and names of deceased people. Also, some material in this guide may contain inappropriate terminology, or offensive language, which, though unintentional, may cause distress.

Key resources for Indigenous perspectives

Websites

AIATSIS Map of Indigenous Australia Created by AIATSIS, Australia's only national institution focused exclusively on the diverse history, cultures and heritage of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.
BlackWords: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writing and Storytelling Provides access to a vast record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander publications including research and educational resources on all forms of creative writing, including film, television, criticism, and scholarship.
NAIDOC week NAIDOC Week celebrates the history, culture and achievements of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
State Library of NSW: Indigenous Engagement Celebrating and sharing stories of Indigenous Australia, and helping to locate and prioritise Indigenous voices in the Library's collections.
Trove First Australians collection National Library of Australia online collection of digitised content on Indigenous Australians

News and media

@IndigenousX A media landscape where Indigenous people can share their knowledge, opinions, and experiences with a wide audience across the world.
ABC Indigenous ABC Indigenous portal brings content and programming together from all over Australia
IndigiTUBE A digital meeting place for First Nations song, dance, language and lore; creating a unified space to share Indigenous Australians evolving and living culture.
Koori mail A Fortnightly National Indigenous Newspaper – 100% Aboriginal-Owned 100% Self Funded
National Indigenous Times NIT strives to be the most comprehensive Indigenous online news site in Australia by offering rigorous reporting on the issues that affect Indigenous Australians.
NITV National Indigenous TV (NITV) is a channel of SBS for and by Indigenous people

Databases

Australian public affairs - full text Includes a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics, and social sciences.
Indigenous studies bibliography AIATSIS This bibliographic database indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. Includes resources in English, and some in Australian Indigenous languages. Topics included: language, culture, anthropology, archaeology, health, education, art, oral histories, history, legal issues, and more.
Indigenous collection Contains historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Topics include: anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, and more.

Journals

Australian Aboriginal studies Focuses on the humanities and social sciences; a pre-eminent inter-disciplinary Indigenous studies journal.
Journal of Australian Indigenous issues A peer-reviewed academic journal publishing articles in all fields of Australian Indigenous Studies.

Guidance for Terminology

Top 10 Tips for Terminology Created by UTS academics. This PDF provides a small insight into various terminology in use currently, how the use of terminology may evolve over time, and what to think about when choosing terminology related to Indigenous Australian and Torres Strait Islander people/s.
Appropriate Terminology, Indigenous Australian Peoples Created by Flinders University. This guide clarifies appropriate language use for the history, society, naming, culture and classifications of Indigenous Australian and Torres Strait Islander people/s.

Indigenous Graduate Attribute - Resource Library

This resource library contains a wide range of resources that will support academics in building the professional Indigenous educational competencies required to effectively embed the Indigenous Graduate Attribute into the curriculum.

Resource Library - EndNote Download this file to your hard drive, then double click the file to import the resource library into EndNote.
Resource Library - RIS file Download this file to add the list of resources to your reference management software, including RefWorks, Mendeley or Zotero.

Resource types

Books

Useful for providing an overview of a topic or issue. Contains background information and context and is very useful as a starting point for research - especially if you are new to a topic!

Journal Articles

Contains the latest research on very specific topics and often contains in-depth analysis. Journal articles are published more quickly than books so can be used to find more up to date information.

Multimedia

Depending on your course, major or specialty, this could include creative works (e.g. films, music, audio tracks) or non-creative works (e.g. news broadcasts, online tutorials, animations or visualisations).

News

Includes broadcasts, editorials and newspaper articles. News sources are a useful source of information for recent or current events or issues, as they and published very quickly (often daily). News sources also provide different perspectives on issues and events.

Reports

Often contain specific information about a particular issue, event, industry area, region or trend. Most reports are written by or for governments, organisation or industry areas.

Indigenous Perspectives & Practices: Home