Welcome
This guide will help students studying Public Health to find the information they need for their studies.
Have a look through this guide to:
- find out how to build searches
- where to search for relevant information, and
- how to reference the information you find.
Key resources for Public Health
Databases
- Medline (Ovid) One of the largest biomedical databases in the world. Managed by the National Library of Medicine.
- Embase Large database with particularly good coverage of drugs and medical devices
- CINAHL (EBSCO) Nursing and Allied Health database.
- AMED Allied and complementary medicine, and public health.
- ProQuest Health & Medicine In addition to journal articles, it finds reports, news, books, dissertations and more.
- Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- healthevidence.org Free database of quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data.
Reports and other grey literature
- Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) The AIHW holds valuable data on many health and welfare issues and topics, widely used by government, researchers, policymakers and the community.
- Department of Health and Aged Care The Commonwealth Department of Health develops and delivers policies and programs and advises the Australian Government on health, aged care and sport.
Statistics
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) Health The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing official statistics on a wide range of topic areas including health.
- World Health Organisation (WHO) The World Health Organization is a specialized agency of the United Nations responsible for international public health.
Recommended Books
Need more help?
Contact Us
- Library Chat
Chat LIVE with the Library - By Email
You will receive a response within one working day.