Skip to Main Content

Strategic Publishing, Research Impact & Researcher Profiles: Other Metrics

This guide covers scholarly publishing strategies, how to choose a journal, discusses Open Access publishing models, how to evaluate research impact, and provides tips around managing researcher profiles

Collaboration metrics

 

Collaboration metrics provide information on the research partnerships between individual researchers, research groups, or institutions. Collaboration calculates the number and percentage of outputs with national or international co-authorship. 

Academic-Corporate Collaboration and Industry Collaborations indicate the degree of collaboration between academic and corporate affiliations. 

 

Tools for collaboration metrics 

  • SciVal - a research analytics tool based on Scopus data from 1996. From the Overview module, we can locate a researcher’s last 5-year Collaboration metrics. Benchmarking module provides more data starting from 1996. 
  • InCites - a research analytics tool based on Web of Science Core Collection data dating back to 1980. We can locate the author’s collaboration metrics when conducting a researcher analysis. 

 

UTS Collaborator Finder  

The UTS Collaboration Finder Tool allows researchers to view possible collaborators for research within UTS. The tool uses multiple data sources to find collaborators in the same research areas of interest by their publications history, research fields, Sustainable Development Goals, and the total amount of funding awarded.  

Patent citation

 

A mention of research output in a patent. Research publications cited in patents show a linkage between science and technology and the value of science for industry. 

Tools for finding patent citations 

  • The Lens - an online patent and scholarly literature search database with citation indexing provided by Cambia. Patent citations can be located within a researcher’s profile. 
  • Altmetric for Institutions - tracks and reports the attention that UTS research outputs receive from news outlets, policy documents, patents, and social media.  
  • InCites - a research analytics tool based on Web of Science Core Collection data dating back to 1980. Patent citation data come from Derwent Innovation. From the Analyze module, we can locate a researcher’s Citations from Patents.  
  • SciVal - Benchmarking module provides patent citation metrics, including Patent-Citations Count and Patent-Citations per Scholarly Output. 

Social impact & policy citation

 

Demonstrating the societal impact of your research is a growing requirement, especially from funding bodies and higher education institutions. It is an important consideration when developing your publishing strategy.  

Tools for demonstrating social impact & policy citations

  • Altmetric for Institutions - tracks and reports the attention that UTS research outputs receive from news outlets, policy documents, patents, and social media.
  • Overton - a policy citation database that collects data from 182 countries.

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

 

The United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, with its 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and 169 targets, calls for the sustainable transformation of societies across the globe.  

The aim is that all UN countries should implement the SDGs and their targets and, in so doing, attain a sustainable future for all humankind by 2030. 

UTS is a signatory to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). 

Tools for finding SDGs research contributions 

  • InCites - A research analytics tool based on Web of Science Core Collection data dating back to 1980. Find a researcher report; you can analyse the research areas by SDGs. 
  • Dimensions - A linked citation database. It covers publications, grants, clinical trials, patents, datasets, and policy documents. From a researcher's profile, SDGs can be filtered under Research Categories. 
  • Overton - A policy citation database. It collects data from 182 countries. Overton provides SDGs for research publications that are cited by policy documents. It does not provide comprehensive SDG data across all researcher's outputs.